Jean Piaget proposed ___ stages of Cognitive Development?

A. 3
B. 4
C. 5
D. 6


Correct Answer: B. 4

Detail about MCQs

Jean Piaget proposed four stages of cognitive development, which outline the typical progression of how children develop thinking skills and understanding of the world. These stages are:
Sensorimotor Stage: This stage occurs from birth to about 2 years old. Infants learn about the world through their senses and actions, gradually developing object permanence and understanding cause-and-effect relationships.
Preoperational Stage: This stage spans roughly from ages 2 to 7. Children begin to use symbols to represent objects and events, but their thinking is still egocentric and lacks logical reasoning.
Concrete Operational Stage: Typically occurring between ages 7 and 11, children in this stage start to think more logically about concrete events. They can understand conservation and perform simple mental operations but struggle with abstract concepts.
Formal Operational Stage: This final stage, beginning around age 12 and continuing through adulthood, is characterized by abstract and logical thinking. Individuals can think hypothetically, consider multiple perspectives, and engage in deductive reasoning.
Each stage represents a significant shift in cognitive abilities and understanding, building upon the previous stage’s achievements.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *