When Afghanistan was given the membership of SAARC?

A. 2004
B. 2005
C. 2006
D. 2007


Correct Answer: D. 2007

Detailed About MCQs

The SAARC was founded by seven states in 1985. Afghanistan began negotiating its accession to SAARC and formally applied for membership in the same year. The issue of Afghanistan joining SAARC generated a great deal of debate in each member state, including concerns about the definition of South Asian identity because Afghanistan is a Central Asian country. Afghanistan joined the SAARC as its eighth member state in April 2007. The member states are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.