Who wins second term as Gambia’s President?

A. Yahya Jammeh
B. Adama Barrow
C. Sir Dawda Jawara
D. Ousainou Darboe


Correct Answer: B. Adama Barrow

Detail About MCQs

Gambia’s incumbent leader Adama Barrow has secured a landslide victory in his bid for a second term, the country’s Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) announced 5 December 2021. The commission’s chairman, Alieu Momarr Njai, declared Barrow the country’s president-elect. Barrow came to power in 2016 after defeating long-term ruler Yahya Jammeh at the polls with the backing of seven political parties. He later fell out with the United Democratic Party (UDP) and formed his National Peoples’ Party, under whose ticket he vied for the presidency. Barrow received a total of 457,519 votes, while his closest rival, Ousainou Darboe of the UDP, got 238,253 votes.